- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
Only the carriers that say yes on their own site are ranked.
22 of the 27 carriers we checked state on their own official site that they accept foreign residents, and most name the residence card as ID. They are ranked below by real monthly cost; every other carrier is listed as unconfirmed. Whether you pass a credit check or can pay without a Japanese credit card is a separate question that the official pages answer carrier by carrier.
22 of the 27 carriers we checked state on their own official site that they accept foreign residents (checked November 5, 2026). Among them, the lowest real monthly cost at 3GB a month is ¥1,078 (Rakuten Mobile, 12-month cost including setup fees); whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
The real monthly cost for carriers that confirm they accept foreign residents, 3GB a month.
Carriers that confirm they accept foreign residents, 3GB a month
Rakuten Mobile3GB–Unlimited
12-month total ¥12,936Setup fee ¥0 (included above)eSIM available
- Cheapest among carriers that state on their own site that they accept foreign residents.
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.

Who can actually sign up
From each carrier's own official site only — not a summary site, not a guess. "Not stated" means we could not find the provider addressing that question either way, which is different from a "no".
| Carrier | Accepts foreign residents | Residence card as ID | Min. remaining validity | Support language(s) | Payment without a Japanese credit card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daredemo MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | Yes |
| Daredemo SumahoDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese | Yes |
| SunsysconDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese | Yes |
| TONE MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | 24 months (below that, the application may be declined; conditions apply, see the carrier's page) | Japanese | Yes, with conditions |
| IIJmioDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese (conditions apply; see the carrier's page) | No — credit card only |
| mineoDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
Show the other 16 carriers
| Carrier | Accepts foreign residents | Residence card as ID | Min. remaining validity | Support language(s) | Payment without a Japanese credit card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AEON MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese, English, Portuguese, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese (conditions apply; see the carrier's page) | No — credit card only |
| HIS MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| NURO MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| BIGLOBE MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | Yes, with conditions |
| y.u mobileDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| LIBMODetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| QT MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| J:COM MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | No — credit card only |
| LinksMateDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese | Yes, with conditions |
| DTI SIMDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese | Yes, with conditions |
| ahamoDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Depends on how you pay | Japanese | Yes |
| povo2.0Details → | Yes | Yes | 90 days | Japanese, English, Korean, Vietnamese, Chinese (conditions apply; see the carrier's page) | Yes, with conditions |
| LINEMODetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Not specified | Japanese (conditions apply; see the carrier's page) | Yes |
| UQ mobileDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | Depends on how you pay | Japanese | Yes |
| Y!mobileDetails → | Yes | Yes, with conditions | 90 days (conditions apply, see the carrier's page) | Japanese, English | Yes |
| Rakuten MobileDetails → | Yes | Yes | Not specified | Japanese, English (conditions apply; see the carrier's page) | Yes |
"Yes, with conditions" is not a plain yes at sign-up. TONE Mobile needs a credit card in your name when you sign up, and lets you switch to bank transfer only after the contract has started. For BIGLOBE Mobile, LinksMate, DTI SIM and povo2.0, open the carrier's page to see what applies.
A "No" can carry one narrow exception (for example, people who already pay a related service of the same company by bank transfer), and "Yes, with conditions" always carries a condition. Each carrier's page and the payment guide spell it out.
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and carrier-specific (often Japanese-language legal text); rather than machine-translate it, each carrier's page links to the official source. See our residence-card guide for what this generally means.
Real monthly cost ranking (3GB a month)
Cheapest first. Cost includes the setup and SIM-issue fees spread over 12 months, with no conditional discounts — the honest, unconditional price. It also assumes 20 minutes of calls a month, so carriers with cheaper per-minute or bundled calling can rank differently at a different call volume. You can check the current terms on Rakuten Mobile's official site.
- 1Rakuten Mobile3GB–Unlimited / setup ¥0¥1,078/mo
- 2HIS Mobile1–10GB / setup ¥3,300¥1,425/mo
- 3NURO Mobile3–15GB / setup ¥3,740¥1,544/mo
- 4IIJmio2–55GB / setup ¥3,733¥1,701/mo
- 5AEON Mobile1–200GB / setup ¥3,300¥1,793/mo
Show the other 7
- 6LinksMate1–120GB / setup ¥550¥1,828/mo
- 7povo2.03–30GB / setup ¥0¥1,870/mo
- 8DTI SIM2–16GB / setup ¥3,733¥1,961/mo
- 9TONE MobileUnlimited except video (2 GB of video a month is included) / setup ¥3,733¥1,961/mo
- 10HIS Mobile20–30GB / setup ¥3,300¥1,974/mo
- 11y.u mobile5GB / setup ¥3,740¥2,173/mo
- 12LIBMO5–60GB / setup ¥3,733¥2,181/mo
Resident SIM, 3GB a month — real monthly cost (tax incl., sign-up conditions checked September 11 – November 5, 2026).
From December 1, 2026, y.u mobile raises the monthly price of every plan, and this applies to current customers too. The Single plan goes from ¥1,070 (5 GB) to ¥1,390 (20 GB) a month, Single U-NEXT from ¥2,970 (10 GB) to ¥3,490 (25 GB), and the base fee of Share U-NEXT from ¥3,620 (20 GB) to ¥4,440 (50 GB), tax incl. The y.u mobile figures on this page use the current price for all 12 months and do not include the new prices.
3GB a month20 min a month (3 min per call)12 months, setup fee included
What we are comparing
The monthly figure is the real cost: the plan price plus the one-off setup and SIM fees spread over 12 months. No conditional discounts (family, fibre bundles) are applied.
Not ranked: could not confirm from official sources
These 5 carriers don't appear in the ranking because we could not find their official site stating whether they accept foreign residents. For 3 of them (Nihon Tsushin SIM, BB.excite Mobile, Rocket Mobile) a My Number card is the only ID they list, so a residence card alone does not get you a contract there. For the rest, the official pages simply don't address it.
| Carrier | Accepts foreign residents | Residence card as ID | Support language(s) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sokumoba | Not stated either way | Not stated | Japanese |
| Nihon Tsushin SIM | Not stated either way | No — My Number card only | Japanese |
| BB.excite Mobile | Not stated either way | No — My Number card only | Japanese |
| Rocket Mobile | Not stated either way | No — My Number card only | Japanese |
| Goen Mobile | Not stated either way | Not stated |
Frequently asked questions
Can I sign up without a Japanese credit card?
Among the 22 carriers in the table below, which all state that they accept residents, 8 confirm a non-credit-card payment method (bank transfer, debit, or convenience-store payment) at sign-up on their official site, some explicitly require a credit card, and for others the provider simply doesn't state it. The "Payment without a Japanese credit card" column shows which is which per carrier — check it before assuming either way. "Yes, with conditions" is not a plain yes at sign-up. TONE Mobile needs a credit card in your name when you sign up, and lets you switch to bank transfer only after the contract has started. For BIGLOBE Mobile, LinksMate, DTI SIM and povo2.0, open the carrier's page to see what applies.
Do I need a residence card with 90+ days left on it?
Most carriers we checked don't publish a specific minimum remaining validity for a residence card. The exceptions we found: TONE Mobile (its official FAQ says an application with less than 24 months remaining may be declined; conditions apply, see its page), povo2.0 (at least 90 days), Y!mobile (at least 90 days; conditions apply, see its page), ahamo (it depends on how you pay), UQ mobile (it depends on how you pay). ahamo: If you are a foreign national and your My Number card has less than 3 months of validity left, you must pay by a credit card in your own name (the official page states the condition for the My Number card). UQ mobile: If you buy the SIM or phone outright and pay monthly by bank transfer, at least 90 days must remain on your period of stay. If you buy outright and pay by credit card, the remaining stay is not checked. Instalment purchases can be declined when the remaining stay is below UQ's standard, whichever way you pay, and foreign residents cannot apply for the 60- or 72-payment plans. For every other carrier, we could not find an official minimum stated either way — bring a card with as much validity remaining as you reasonably can, and confirm with the carrier if you're close to expiry.
Is there really no credit check at all?
A few carriers (Daredemo Mobile, Daredemo Sumaho, Sunsyscon) explicitly advertise that they don't run the shared industry credit-history check that most Japanese carriers use, and that a past unpaid phone bill elsewhere won't block you. That said, several of them still reserve the right to decline an application case-by-case (for suspected resale, fraud, or organized-crime ties) — "no credit check" isn't the same as "no screening at all." We quote each carrier's own wording on its page rather than summarizing it away.
What's the cheapest option at 3GB a month?
At our standard comparison usage (3GB/month, 20 minutes of calls a month averaging 3 minutes/call, 12-month cost horizon including setup fees), the cheapest plan among carriers that confirm they accept foreign residents is Rakuten Mobile's 3GB–Unlimited plan at ¥1,078/month (as of November 5, 2026).
What if my carrier isn't in the ranking?
5 carriers we checked don't state clearly, on their own official site, whether they accept foreign residents. 3 of them (Nihon Tsushin SIM, BB.excite Mobile, Rocket Mobile) accept only a My Number card as ID, so a residence card alone does not get you a contract there; for the rest, the official pages simply don't address it. We list them separately below rather than guessing them into (or out of) the ranking.
Sources
Sign-up conditions come from each carrier's own official page or terms of service, checked on September 11 – November 5, 2026. Prices come from the same plan data as the Japanese site.
- Daredemo Mobile official page (checked November 5, 2026)
- Daredemo Sumaho official page (checked November 5, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page (checked November 5, 2026)
- TONE Mobile official page (checked November 5, 2026)
- IIJmio official page (checked October 6, 2026)
- mineo official page (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page (checked October 6, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page (checked September 11, 2026)
Just visiting? eSIM for tourists ranks short-term data eSIMs. See also paying without a Japanese credit card and eSIM vs. a physical SIM. How we calculate: about us.
Cheapest confirmed option: Rakuten Mobile at ¥1,078/month
3GB–Unlimited, setup fee included in the monthly figure. Check the ID documents and payment methods on the official site before you apply — approval is the carrier's decision.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















