IIJmio: what it costs, and who it accepts
IIJmio's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from IIJmio's own official pages.
IIJmio states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥1,701 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up on language: English help is offered only through IIJmio's official X account (@iijmio). The site has an English page for visitors from abroad.
IIJmio, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
IIJmio2–55GB
12-month total ¥20,413Setup fee ¥3,733 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who IIJmio suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You hold a newer-type residence card — A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be used for online sign-up yet (IC chip reading plus a face photo); IIJmio says support is planned for this winter. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) work online through the JPKI method.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required.
- You need English support — see the language note at the top of this page.
- You may leave within the first month — a minimum term is stated: it runs to the end of the month your service starts.
IIJmio plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2–55GB | ¥850 | Yes | ¥3,733 |
Sign-up conditions
From IIJmio's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Newer-type residence cards | A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be used for online sign-up yet (IC chip reading plus a face photo); IIJmio says support is planned for this winter. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) work online through the JPKI method. |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese. English help is offered only through IIJmio's official X account (@iijmio). The site has an English page for visitors from abroad. |
| Credit card | Accepted. Cards issued overseas may not work. Prepaid cards and debit cards cannot be used. |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Not accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,733 |
| Minimum term | Until the end of the month service starts |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: IIJmio official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does IIJmio accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — IIJmio states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Newer-type cards: A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be used for online sign-up yet (IC chip reading plus a face photo); IIJmio says support is planned for this winter. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) work online through the JPKI method. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay IIJmio without a Japanese credit card?
No — IIJmio's official site states a credit card is required; it does not offer bank transfer, debit, or convenience-store payment for this plan. About the credit card itself: Cards issued overseas may not work. Prepaid cards and debit cards cannot be used.
Is eSIM available from IIJmio?
Yes, at least one IIJmio plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- IIJmio official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio official page 9 (checked October 6, 2026)
- IIJmio plan page (checked November 5, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to IIJmio
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥1,701/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on IIJmio's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















