- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- AEON Mobile
AEON Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
AEON Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from AEON Mobile's own official pages.
AEON Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥1,793 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Language support: Japanese, English, Portuguese, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese. The 7 languages are offered by phone (0120-025-260) through an interpreter, and reception hours vary by language. The official pages we checked are in Japanese only.
AEON Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
AEON Mobile1–200GB
12-month total ¥21,516Setup fee ¥3,300 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who AEON Mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You hold a newer-type residence card — A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate (without My Number card functions) cannot be used for online sign-up; apply at an AEON Mobile shop. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) can be used online.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required.
AEON Mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–200GB | ¥858 | Yes | ¥3,300 |
Sign-up conditions
From AEON Mobile's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Newer-type residence cards | A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate (without My Number card functions) cannot be used for online sign-up; apply at an AEON Mobile shop. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) can be used online. |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese, English, Portuguese, Spanish, Chinese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese. The 7 languages are offered by phone (0120-025-260) through an interpreter, and reception hours vary by language. The official pages we checked are in Japanese only. |
| Credit card | Accepted. Credit cards designated by AEON only. Cards issued overseas, prepaid cards and debit cards cannot be used. |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Not accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,300 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: AEON Mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does AEON Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — AEON Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Newer-type cards: A second-generation residence card or special permanent resident certificate (without My Number card functions) cannot be used for online sign-up; apply at an AEON Mobile shop. The My Number card-integrated types (Specified Residence Card, Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificate) can be used online. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay AEON Mobile without a Japanese credit card?
No — AEON Mobile's official site states a credit card is required; it does not offer bank transfer, debit, or convenience-store payment for this plan. About the credit card itself: Credit cards designated by AEON only. Cards issued overseas, prepaid cards and debit cards cannot be used.
Is eSIM available from AEON Mobile?
Yes, at least one AEON Mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- AEON Mobile official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- AEON Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to AEON Mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥1,793/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on AEON Mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















