- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- QT Mobile
QT Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
QT Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from QT Mobile's own official pages.
QT Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥2,301 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: QT Mobile's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
QT Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
QT Mobile2–50GB
12-month total ¥27,610Setup fee ¥3,850 (included above)eSIM available only on the Docomo and au networks
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who QT Mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required (the payment question below lists the narrow exception).
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
QT Mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2–50GB | ¥1,100 | Yes (Docomo and au networks only) | ¥3,850 |
Sign-up conditions
From QT Mobile's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted. Credit cards issued in Japan only. Debit cards cannot be used. |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Only if you also use BBIQ Hikari internet or BBIQ Hikari TV, with the same login ID for both. Not available if you use QT Mobile alone. |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,850 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: QT Mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does QT Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — QT Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay QT Mobile without a Japanese credit card?
Credit card only if you sign up for QT Mobile on its own. Customers who also use BBIQ Hikari internet or BBIQ Hikari TV can pay by bank transfer, provided the BBIQ login ID and the QT Mobile login ID are the same. About the credit card itself: Credit cards issued in Japan only. Debit cards cannot be used.
Is eSIM available from QT Mobile?
Yes, at least one QT Mobile plan supports eSIM, but only on the Docomo and au networks (see the plan table).
Sources
- QT Mobile official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- QT Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to QT Mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥2,301/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on QT Mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















