JAPAN SIM NAVIRakuten Mobile

Ad disclosure: affiliate links. Paid links never change the ranking. (policy)

  1. Japan SIM Navi
  2. SIM for residents
  3. Rakuten Mobile

Rakuten Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts

Checked / SIM Navi team

Rakuten Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from Rakuten Mobile's own official pages.

Rakuten Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥1,078 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 11, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.

楽天モバイルのロゴRakuten Mobile

Language support: Japanese, English. There is an English website and an English online-application guide, and some shops offer multilingual support. Phone support is in Japanese only.

Rakuten Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon

Rakuten Mobile3GB–Unlimited

¥1,078 /month

12-month total ¥12,936Setup fee ¥0 (included above)eSIM available

  • Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
  • Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.

Who Rakuten Mobile suits

A good fit if
  • You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
  • You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
  • You have no Japanese credit card (the official pages list bank transfer and debit card).
Look elsewhere if
  • A cancellation fee is stated: ¥1,078 — only if you cancel within 1 year of starting service on a line applied for on or after April 1, 2025 (the maximum for most plans; ¥1,100 flat on the U-NEXT plan).

Rakuten Mobile plans

Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.

1GB a month3GB–Unlimited1,078 yen/mo3GB a month3GB–Unlimited1,078 yen/mo10GB a month3GB–Unlimited2,178 yen/mo
Rakuten Mobile 3GB–Unlimited — real monthly cost at three data levels (setup fee spread over 12 months, 20 minutes of calls a month included, tax incl.)
Rakuten Mobile, 1 plan (tax incl., checked November 1, 2026).
DataMonthly fromeSIMSetup fee
3GB–Unlimited¥1,078Yes¥0

Sign-up conditions

From Rakuten Mobile's own official pages, checked on October 11, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".

EligibilityResidents acceptedResidence card OKScreening appliesPaymentCredit card: yesBank transfer: yesKonbini: n/aLeavingTerm not statedFee: ¥1,078 (only in some cases)Setup: ¥0
What Rakuten Mobile states officially (checked October 11, 2026). Details in the table below.
Rakuten Mobile, verified against official sources (October 11, 2026).
ConditionWhat the official site states
Accepts foreign residentsYes (stated officially)
Residence card as IDYes
Min. remaining validityNot specified by the provider
Support language(s)Japanese, English. There is an English website and an English online-application guide, and some shops offer multilingual support. Phone support is in Japanese only.
Credit cardAccepted
Debit cardAccepted
Bank transferAccepted
Convenience-store paymentNot stated
Payment feesPaying by bank debit costs ¥110 each month (charged when the bill is debited), and Rakuten Points cannot be used for that bill.
Setup cost¥0
Minimum termNot specified by the provider
Cancellation fee¥1,078 — only if you cancel within 1 year of starting service on a line applied for on or after April 1, 2025 (the maximum for most plans; ¥1,100 flat on the U-NEXT plan)

Identity verification at home when the SIM is delivered is for Japanese nationals only. If the correct address is not registered on the IC chip of your residence card, you cannot use the Simple Mobile ID Verification until the chip is updated (see the official page).

The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: Rakuten Mobile official page on ID documents.

Frequently asked questions

Does Rakuten Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?

Yes — Rakuten Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Identity verification at home when the SIM is delivered is for Japanese nationals only. If the correct address is not registered on the IC chip of your residence card, you cannot use the Simple Mobile ID Verification until the chip is updated (see the official page). Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.

Can I pay Rakuten Mobile without a Japanese credit card?

Yes — Rakuten Mobile officially offers bank transfer and debit card. See the conditions table below for specifics. Paying by bank debit costs ¥110 each month (charged when the bill is debited), and Rakuten Points cannot be used for that bill.

Is eSIM available from Rakuten Mobile?

Yes, at least one Rakuten Mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).

Sources

Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)

Before you apply to Rakuten Mobile

At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥1,078/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on Rakuten Mobile's official site before applying.