- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- HIS Mobile
HIS Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
HIS Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from HIS Mobile's own official pages.
HIS Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥1,425 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked September 11, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: HIS Mobile's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
HIS Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
HIS Mobile1–10GB
12-month total ¥17,100Setup fee ¥3,300 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who HIS Mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required.
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
HIS Mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–10GB | ¥550 | Yes | ¥3,300 |
| 20–30GB | ¥1,699 | Yes | ¥3,300 |
The 1GB tier is ¥550 a month. It drops to ¥280 only in a month when you use less than 100 MB; that is not a price you can choose when you sign up.
Sign-up conditions
From HIS Mobile's own official pages, checked on September 11, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Not accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,300 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: HIS Mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does HIS Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — HIS Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay HIS Mobile without a Japanese credit card?
No — HIS Mobile's official site states a credit card is required; it does not offer bank transfer, debit, or convenience-store payment for this plan.
Is eSIM available from HIS Mobile?
Yes, at least one HIS Mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- HIS Mobile official page 1 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 2 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 3 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 4 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 5 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 6 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 7 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile official page 8 (checked September 11, 2026)
- HIS Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
- HIS Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to HIS Mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥1,425/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on HIS Mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















