JAPAN SIM NAVIDTI SIM

Ad disclosure: affiliate links. Paid links never change the ranking. (policy)

  1. Japan SIM Navi
  2. SIM for residents
  3. DTI SIM

DTI SIM: what it costs, and who it accepts

Checked / SIM Navi team

DTI SIM's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from DTI SIM's own official pages.

DTI SIM states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥1,961 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.

DTI SIMのロゴDTI SIM

Heads up: DTI SIM's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.

DTI SIM, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon

DTI SIM2–16GB

¥1,961 /month

12-month total ¥23,533Setup fee ¥3,733 (included above)eSIM not for a new contract (SIM card only; you can switch to eSIM after activation)

  • Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
  • Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.

Who DTI SIM suits

A good fit if
  • You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
Look elsewhere if
  • You have no Japanese credit card — paying without one is conditional; the payment question below says what applies.
  • You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
  • You want to sign up on an eSIM from day one. New contracts are SIM-card only; you can switch to eSIM after activation.

DTI SIM plans

Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.

1GB a month2–16GB1,796 yen/mo3GB a month2–16GB1,961 yen/mo10GB a month2–16GB2,731 yen/mo
DTI SIM 2–16GB — real monthly cost at three data levels (setup fee spread over 12 months, 20 minutes of calls a month included, tax incl.)
DTI SIM, 1 plan (tax incl., checked November 1, 2026).
DataMonthly fromeSIMSetup fee
2–16GB¥1,485New contracts: SIM card only (eSIM after activation)¥3,733

Sign-up conditions

From DTI SIM's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".

EligibilityResidents acceptedResidence card: see termsScreening appliesPaymentCredit card: yesBank transfer: conditionalKonbini: n/aLeavingMin. term: noneFee: ¥0Setup: ¥3,733
What DTI SIM states officially (checked October 6, 2026). Details in the table below.
DTI SIM, verified against official sources (October 6, 2026).
ConditionWhat the official site states
Accepts foreign residentsYes (stated officially)
Residence card as IDYes. For the image-upload route, a residence card or special permanent resident certificate also needs a supporting document (a certificate of residence or a utility receipt).
Min. remaining validityNot specified by the provider
Support language(s)Japanese
Credit cardAccepted
Debit cardNot stated
Bank transferNot at sign-up (credit card only). An official DTI FAQ says the payment method can be changed after you apply, but we found no statement that DTI SIM itself can be paid by bank transfer.
Convenience-store paymentNot stated
Setup cost¥3,733
Minimum termNone
Cancellation feeNone

The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: DTI SIM official page on ID documents.

Frequently asked questions

Does DTI SIM accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?

Yes — DTI SIM states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. For the image-upload route, a residence card or special permanent resident certificate also needs a supporting document (a certificate of residence or a utility receipt). Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.

Can I pay DTI SIM without a Japanese credit card?

Only after sign-up, and not confirmed. At sign-up you need a credit card in your own name; an official FAQ says the payment method can be changed after you apply, but we found no statement that DTI SIM can be paid by bank transfer.

Is eSIM available from DTI SIM?

Not for a new contract. New contracts are SIM-card only; after activation you can switch to eSIM.

Sources

Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)

Before you apply to DTI SIM

At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥1,961/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on DTI SIM's official site before applying.