- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- J:COM Mobile
J:COM Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
J:COM Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from J:COM Mobile's own official pages.
J:COM Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥2,838 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: J:COM Mobile's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
J:COM Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
J:COM Mobile1–50GB
12-month total ¥34,056Setup fee ¥0 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who J:COM Mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required (the payment question below lists the narrow exception).
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
J:COM Mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–50GB | ¥1,408 | Yes | ¥0 |
Sign-up conditions
From J:COM Mobile's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Only for people who already pay for other J:COM services by bank transfer and keep paying that way. |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥0 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: J:COM Mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does J:COM Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — J:COM Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay J:COM Mobile without a Japanese credit card?
Credit card only, as a rule; debit cards cannot be used. People who already pay for other J:COM services by bank transfer can keep paying that way.
Is eSIM available from J:COM Mobile?
Yes, at least one J:COM Mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- J:COM Mobile official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- J:COM Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to J:COM Mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥2,838/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on J:COM Mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















