LIBMO: what it costs, and who it accepts
LIBMO's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from LIBMO's own official pages.
LIBMO states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥2,181 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: LIBMO's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
LIBMO, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
LIBMO5–60GB
12-month total ¥26,173Setup fee ¥3,733 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who LIBMO suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You hold a newer-type residence card — Specified Residence Cards and Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificates (the My Number card-integrated types) cannot be used.
- You have no Japanese credit card — this carrier states a credit card is required (the payment question below lists the narrow exception).
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
- You may leave within 12 months — a minimum term is stated.
- A cancellation fee is stated: One month's fee for your plan, if you cancel or transfer your number out within 1 year of the billing start date (voice SIMs only; data SIMs have none).
LIBMO plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5–60GB | ¥990 | Yes | ¥3,733 |
Sign-up conditions
From LIBMO's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Newer-type residence cards | Specified Residence Cards and Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificates (the My Number card-integrated types) cannot be used. |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Not accepted |
| Bank transfer | Only for customers of TOKAI's @T COM or TNC internet services, through "ISP bundled billing" (some payment methods are excluded). Not available on its own. |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,733 |
| Minimum term | 12 month(s) |
| Cancellation fee | One month's fee for your plan, if you cancel or transfer your number out within 1 year of the billing start date (voice SIMs only; data SIMs have none) |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: LIBMO official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does LIBMO accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — LIBMO states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Newer-type cards: Specified Residence Cards and Specified Special Permanent Resident Certificates (the My Number card-integrated types) cannot be used. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay LIBMO without a Japanese credit card?
Credit card only. Debit cards and bank debit cannot be registered. Customers of TOKAI's @T COM or TNC internet services can use the same payment method through "ISP bundled billing" (some payment methods are excluded).
Is eSIM available from LIBMO?
Yes, at least one LIBMO plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- LIBMO official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 9 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 10 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO official page 11 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LIBMO plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to LIBMO
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥2,181/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on LIBMO's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















