LINEMO: what it costs, and who it accepts
LINEMO's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from LINEMO's own official pages.
LINEMO states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥2,191 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up on language: LINEMO's official page says application and support are available in Japanese only. English guides exist for the application and the initial setup.
LINEMO, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
LINEMO3–10GB
12-month total ¥26,290Setup fee ¥3,850 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who LINEMO suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You have no Japanese credit card (the official pages list bank transfer and debit card).
- You hold a newer-type residence card — A residence card or special permanent resident certificate in the new style issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app yet (support is planned). Choose verification at delivery.
- You need English support — see the language note at the top of this page.
- A cancellation fee is stated: ¥990 — only if you cancel within 12 months of joining on or after July 1, 2026 (¥1,100 on Best Plan V). If you joined earlier, the official page says the fee applies only when you cancel in the month you joined (¥990; for a number transfer, only if you joined on or after March 1, 2025).
LINEMO plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3–10GB | ¥990 | Yes (but see the eSIM note below) | ¥3,850 |
| 30GB | ¥2,970 | Yes (but see the eSIM note below) | ¥3,850 |
eSIM: LINEMO's English guide says that, because of the limited identification documents, only permanent residents and special permanent residents can sign up with an eSIM. The Japanese page does not state this restriction, so the official pages differ. Check the English guide before you apply for an eSIM.
Sign-up conditions
From LINEMO's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes, but if you are not a permanent resident you also need your passport (photo page). Permanent residents need only the residence card. |
| Newer-type residence cards | A residence card or special permanent resident certificate in the new style issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app yet (support is planned). Choose verification at delivery. |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese. LINEMO's official page says application and support are available in Japanese only. English guides exist for the application and the initial setup. |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Accepted |
| Bank transfer | Accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Not stated |
| Setup cost | ¥3,850 |
| Minimum term | Not specified by the provider |
| Cancellation fee | ¥990 — only if you cancel within 12 months of joining on or after July 1, 2026 (¥1,100 on Best Plan V). If you joined earlier, the official page says the fee applies only when you cancel in the month you joined (¥990; for a number transfer, only if you joined on or after March 1, 2025) |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: LINEMO official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does LINEMO accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — LINEMO states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes, but if you are not a permanent resident you also need your passport (photo page). Permanent residents need only the residence card. Newer-type cards: A residence card or special permanent resident certificate in the new style issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app yet (support is planned). Choose verification at delivery. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay LINEMO without a Japanese credit card?
Yes — LINEMO officially offers bank transfer and debit card. See the conditions table below for specifics.
Is eSIM available from LINEMO?
Yes, at least one LINEMO plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which). Note: LINEMO's English guide says that, because of the limited identification documents, only permanent residents and special permanent residents can sign up with an eSIM. The Japanese page does not state this restriction, so the official pages differ. Check the English guide before you apply for an eSIM.
Sources
- LINEMO official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- LINEMO plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
- LINEMO plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to LINEMO
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥2,191/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on LINEMO's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















