- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- Y!mobile
Y!mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
Y!mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from Y!mobile's own official pages.
Y!mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥4,479 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Y!mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
Y!mobile5GB
12-month total ¥53,746Setup fee ¥3,850 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who Y!mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You have no Japanese credit card (the official pages list bank transfer and debit card).
- Support is available in Japanese, English.
- You hold a newer-type residence card — A residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app. Use verification by the delivery person.
- A cancellation fee is stated: ¥1,100 — only if you cancel within 12 months of joining on or after July 1, 2026 (¥858 on Simple 3 S/M, ¥1,100 on Simple 3 L).
Y!mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5GB | ¥3,278 | Yes | ¥3,850 |
| 30GB | ¥4,378 | Yes | ¥3,850 |
| 35GB | ¥5,478 | Yes | ¥3,850 |
Sign-up conditions
From Y!mobile's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes, but unless you are a Permanent Resident or Highly Skilled Professional (No. 2) you also need your passport. |
| Newer-type residence cards | A residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app. Use verification by the delivery person. |
| Min. remaining validity | 90 days. The 90-day condition applies to people whose status is not Permanent Resident or Highly Skilled Professional (No. 2), who show a residence card together with a passport. It does not apply to permanent residents or Highly Skilled Professionals (No. 2). |
| Support language(s) | Japanese, English |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Accepted |
| Bank transfer | Accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Not accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥3,850 |
| Minimum term | Not specified by the provider |
| Cancellation fee | ¥1,100 — only if you cancel within 12 months of joining on or after July 1, 2026 (¥858 on Simple 3 S/M, ¥1,100 on Simple 3 L) |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: Y!mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does Y!mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — Y!mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes, but unless you are a Permanent Resident or Highly Skilled Professional (No. 2) you also need your passport. Newer-type cards: A residence card or special permanent resident certificate issued on or after June 14, 2026 cannot be verified in the app. Use verification by the delivery person. The card needs at least 90 days of validity remaining. The 90-day condition applies to people whose status is not Permanent Resident or Highly Skilled Professional (No. 2), who show a residence card together with a passport. It does not apply to permanent residents or Highly Skilled Professionals (No. 2). Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay Y!mobile without a Japanese credit card?
Yes — Y!mobile officially offers bank transfer and debit card. See the conditions table below for specifics.
Is eSIM available from Y!mobile?
Yes, at least one Y!mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- Y!mobile official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 9 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 10 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile official page 11 (checked October 6, 2026)
- Y!mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
- Y!mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
- Y!mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to Y!mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥4,479/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on Y!mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















