- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- Sunsyscon
Sunsyscon: what it costs, and who it accepts
Sunsyscon's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from Sunsyscon's own official pages.
Sunsyscon states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥4,306 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked November 7, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: Sunsyscon's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
Sunsyscon, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
Sunsyscon3–120GB
12-month total ¥51,666Setup fee ¥330 (included above)eSIM not available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who Sunsyscon suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You have no Japanese credit card (the official pages list bank transfer and convenience-store payment).
- You want a carrier that states it does not run the shared credit-history check.
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
- You may leave within 6 months — a minimum term is stated.
- A cancellation fee is stated: One month of the base fee, if you cancel within the first 6 months.
- You want an eSIM — the plans we track are physical-SIM only.
Sunsyscon plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3–120GB | ¥4,278 | No | ¥330 |
Sign-up conditions
From Sunsyscon's own official pages, checked on November 7, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes, but only together with your passport photo page. The application is not accepted without it. |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Not accepted |
| Debit card | Not stated |
| Bank transfer | Accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Accepted |
| Payment fees | The official monthly price table has three columns: paying by direct debit takes ¥1,000 off compared with paying by bank transfer, and paying at a convenience store adds ¥330 compared with bank transfer. |
| Setup cost | ¥330 |
| Minimum term | 6 month(s) |
| Cancellation fee | One month of the base fee, if you cancel within the first 6 months |
Sunsyscon starts as a rental. According to its official site, you rent the phone when you sign up, and the contract moves to your own name in the 6th month.
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: Sunsyscon official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does Sunsyscon accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — Sunsyscon states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes, but only together with your passport photo page. The application is not accepted without it. Sunsyscon starts as a rental. According to its official site, you rent the phone when you sign up, and the contract moves to your own name in the 6th month. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: its official site states there is no credit-history check for the line contract.
Can I pay Sunsyscon without a Japanese credit card?
Yes — Sunsyscon officially offers bank transfer and convenience-store payment. See the conditions table below for specifics. The official monthly price table has three columns: paying by direct debit takes ¥1,000 off compared with paying by bank transfer, and paying at a convenience store adds ¥330 compared with bank transfer.
Is eSIM available from Sunsyscon?
No — the Sunsyscon plans we track are physical-SIM only. The official FAQ says eSIM is not offered and that it provides physical SIM cards only.
Sources
- Sunsyscon official page 1 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 2 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 3 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 4 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 5 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 6 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 7 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 8 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 9 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 10 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 11 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 12 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon official page 13 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Sunsyscon plan page (checked November 5, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means
Before you apply to Sunsyscon
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥4,306/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on Sunsyscon's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















