- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- BIGLOBE Mobile
BIGLOBE Mobile: what it costs, and who it accepts
BIGLOBE Mobile's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from BIGLOBE Mobile's own official pages.
BIGLOBE Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents, and a residence card is accepted as ID; its lowest real monthly cost is ¥2,511 at 3GB a month (12-month cost including setup fees) (checked October 6, 2026). Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision.
Heads up: BIGLOBE Mobile's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
BIGLOBE Mobile, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
BIGLOBE Mobile1–30GB
12-month total ¥30,133Setup fee ¥3,733 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call); no discount that needs a condition.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who BIGLOBE Mobile suits
- You hold a residence card — this carrier states officially that it accepts residents.
- You want to use the residence card itself as ID.
- You have no Japanese credit card — paying without one is conditional; the payment question below says what applies.
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
BIGLOBE Mobile plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above is the plan price, plus the one-off fees spread over 12 months, plus the call charges for 20 minutes of calls a month (3 minutes per call) at the carrier's own per-call rate, with no paid call option and no discount that needs a condition (family, fibre bundles). Calls a plan already includes are free, and discounts with no condition are counted.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–30GB | ¥1,078 | Yes | ¥3,733 |
Sign-up conditions
From BIGLOBE Mobile's own official pages, checked on October 6, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Yes (stated officially) |
| Residence card as ID | Yes |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Not stated |
| Bank transfer | Data-only SIMs only (through KDDI billing). A voice SIM needs a credit card in your own name. |
| Convenience-store payment | Not stated |
| Setup cost | ¥3,733 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | None |
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: BIGLOBE Mobile official page on ID documents.
Frequently asked questions
Does BIGLOBE Mobile accept residence-card holders, and does it run a credit check?
Yes — BIGLOBE Mobile states on its official pages that it accepts foreign residents. Residence card as ID: Yes. Being accepted as a foreign resident is a separate question from credit screening for the line contract itself: screening terms exist; see the official page.
Can I pay BIGLOBE Mobile without a Japanese credit card?
Partly. A voice SIM needs a credit card in your own name, but a data-only SIM can be paid by bank transfer through KDDI billing (for people who are not BIGLOBE members). Existing BIGLOBE members may be able to use the payment method already registered on their account; see the official FAQ.
Is eSIM available from BIGLOBE Mobile?
Yes, at least one BIGLOBE Mobile plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 1 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 2 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 3 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 4 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 5 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 6 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 7 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 8 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 9 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 10 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 11 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 12 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 13 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 14 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile official page 15 (checked October 6, 2026)
- BIGLOBE Mobile plan page (checked November 1, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means · Full plan details (Japanese page)
Before you apply to BIGLOBE Mobile
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥2,511/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on BIGLOBE Mobile's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















