Mobal in Japan: every plan, and what it costs
Every Mobal prepaid travel plan covering Japan that we track, with tax-included pricing and the activation and refund terms from Mobal's own official pages.
Mobal's cheapest Japan prepaid eSIM plan is Unlimited for 3 days at ¥1,650, tax included, out of 25 plans we track (checked November 7, 2026).
Cheapest Mobal Japan plan we list
MobalUnlimited
Valid for 3 daysHotspot yesPlans in our data 25
- Priced in yen, so this is exactly what you pay.
- Official pages checked on November 7, 2026.
Mobal Japan plans
Total price you pay, tax included. Longer plans are listed as they are — the ranking on the tourist eSIM page decides which one is cheapest for your trip.
- 3 daysUnlimited¥1,650
- 4 daysUnlimited¥2,200
- 5 daysUnlimited¥2,750
- 6 daysUnlimited¥3,300
- 7 daysUnlimited¥3,850
- 8 daysUnlimited¥4,400
Show the other 19 plans
- 9 daysUnlimited¥4,950
- 10 daysUnlimited¥5,400
- 11 daysUnlimited¥5,700
- 12 daysUnlimited¥6,000
- 13 daysUnlimited¥6,300
- 14 daysUnlimited¥6,600
- 15 daysUnlimited¥7,000
- 16 daysUnlimited¥7,400
- 16 days10GB total¥4,620
- 16 days50GB total¥5,170
- 17 daysUnlimited¥7,800
- 18 daysUnlimited¥8,200
- 19 daysUnlimited¥8,500
- 20 daysUnlimited¥8,800
- 21 daysUnlimited¥9,100
- 26 daysUnlimited¥11,000
- 31 daysUnlimited¥12,300
- 31 days10GB total¥5,950
- 31 days50GB total¥6,600
Mobal, 25 Japan plans (tax incl.).
Monthly plan (for residents)
This isn't a prepaid travel package — it's a continuous-billing monthly plan aimed at people living in Japan, with a separate one-time cost on top of the monthly price. It is not part of the tourist ranking. The one-time cost is the SIM card price. Mobal's own page shows a 10% discount on it, and says there are no activation fees.
| Data | Monthly price | One-time cost | Hotspot | Phone number |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1GB total | ¥1,650/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 5GB total | ¥3,190/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 10GB total | ¥3,630/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 15GB total | ¥3,795/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 30GB total | ¥4,378/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 50GB total | ¥5,280/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 100GB total | ¥6,490/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| 200GB total | ¥9,900/month | ¥4,950 | Yes | Yes |
| Calls and SMS only (no data) | ¥1,430/month | ¥4,950 | No data to share | Yes |
Payment, activation & refunds
| Condition | What the official page states |
|---|---|
| Payment methods | Not found on the official pages we checked |
| App required? | Not stated |
| Validity starts from | First connection in Japan |
| Hotspot (tethering) | Yes on some plans; not listed on others. The prepaid Tourist unlimited plans allow tethering for up to 15GB (the official page shows "15GB hotspot data"). The monthly Voice+Data plan can tether, but Mobal says it does not guarantee it on every device or OS. |
| Japanese-language support | Not stated |
| Refund / cancellation | Not spelled out on the pages we checked — ask official support before buying if this matters to you. |
Frequently asked questions
Does Mobal's Japan eSIM include a phone number?
The prepaid Mobal Japan plans we list are data-only, with no voice number or SMS. The monthly plans below include a Japanese phone number.
Can I tether / use Mobal's Japan eSIM as a hotspot?
Yes, for the plans Mobal lists as hotspot-capable — see the conditions table. The prepaid Tourist unlimited plans allow tethering for up to 15GB (the official page shows "15GB hotspot data"). The monthly Voice+Data plan can tether, but Mobal says it does not guarantee it on every device or OS.
Do I need the Mobal app to buy and activate this?
Mobal doesn't state this clearly on the pages we checked.
Sources
- Mobal official page 1 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Mobal official page 2 (checked November 7, 2026)
- Mobal official page 3 (checked November 7, 2026)
Back to the Japan eSIM ranking · Activation and refunds, explained · eSIM vs. a physical SIM
Before you buy from Mobal
Check that your phone supports eSIM and is carrier-unlocked, and when the validity clock starts, on Mobal's official site.
Choose by provider
Logos open the provider's own site.




















