- Japan SIM Navi
- SIM for residents
- Sokumoba
Sokumoba: what it costs, and who it accepts
Sokumoba's plans for people living in Japan, what it takes to sign up, and the real monthly cost including the setup fee. Everything here comes from Sokumoba's own official pages.
Heads up: Sokumoba's official application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm. You (or someone helping you) will likely need to read Japanese to sign up.
Sokumoba, 3GB a month, 12-month cost horizon
Sokumoba1–20GB
12-month total ¥40,830Setup fee ¥4,950 (included above)eSIM available
- Real monthly cost: plan price plus the one-off fees spread over the horizon, no conditional discounts.
- Whether your application is approved is the carrier's decision, not ours.
Who Sokumoba suits
- You have no Japanese credit card (bank transfer, debit or convenience-store payment is confirmed).
- You need English support — application and support are in Japanese only, as far as we could confirm.
Sokumoba plans
Monthly price before the setup fee, tax included. The real monthly cost above adds the one-off fees.
| Data | Monthly from | eSIM | Setup fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–20GB | ¥1,980 | Yes | ¥4,950 |
Sign-up conditions
From Sokumoba's own official pages, checked on September 29, 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it addressed, which is different from a "no".
| Condition | What the official site states |
|---|---|
| Accepts foreign residents | Not confirmed |
| Residence card as ID | Not stated |
| Min. remaining validity | Not specified by the provider |
| Support language(s) | Japanese |
| Credit card | Accepted |
| Debit card | Not stated |
| Bank transfer | Not accepted |
| Convenience-store payment | Accepted |
| Setup cost | ¥4,950 |
| Minimum term | None |
| Cancellation fee | Not specified by the provider |
Sokumoba's official support FAQ (updated 2 July 2026) directs foreign nationals to JP SMART SIM, a separate service from the same company (CoeNova Co., Ltd.), and does not say whether Sokumoba itself accepts them.
The exact list of accepted ID documents is long and partly Japanese-only legal text, so we link to the source rather than translating it: Sokumoba official.
Frequently asked questions
Does Sokumoba accept applicants with a residence card and no Japanese credit history?
This isn't confirmed either way on the official pages we checked. Sokumoba's official support FAQ (updated 2 July 2026) directs foreign nationals to JP SMART SIM, a separate service from the same company (CoeNova Co., Ltd.), and does not say whether Sokumoba itself accepts them.
Can I pay Sokumoba without a Japanese credit card?
Yes — Sokumoba officially offers at least one non-credit-card payment method (bank transfer, debit, or convenience-store payment). See the conditions table below for specifics.
Is eSIM available from Sokumoba?
Yes, at least one Sokumoba plan supports eSIM (see the plan table for which).
Sources
- Sokumoba official page 1 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 2 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 3 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 4 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 5 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 6 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 7 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 8 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba official page 9 (checked September 29, 2026)
- Sokumoba plan page (checked September 29, 2026)
Back to the resident SIM ranking · Paying without a Japanese credit card · What the residence-card requirement means
Before you apply to Sokumoba
At 3GB a month the real cost is ¥3,403/month. Check the accepted ID documents and payment methods on Sokumoba's official site before applying.
Choose by provider
Provider names open the provider's own site.




















